Sacred Self Care

Melanated Lotus Yoga

Peace Beloveds,

Day 27: Sacred Self Care

Self-care is one of the most powerful and vital things that you can do for yourself. It’s a way of honoring yourself, your importance, and your purpose. Adding mindfulness to your self-care practice can help cultivate a sense of sacredness for it. Today after you get home from work, take a nice long bath. To prepare for it, pick up some items that will make this bath feel special for you. See below for a couple of suggestions:

  • Flower Petals (use your favorite herbal tea bags if you cannot pick up flowers)
  • Essential Oils
  • Crystals
  • Meditation Music/ Jazz/ Instrumentals ( pick songs without words to allow you to connect with your thoughts during this time.)
  • Candles
  • Scented Bath Salts
  • Incense
  • Scented Body Oils

Allow your mind and body to fully relax in your space. You can even do a quick 5 to 10-minute meditation to help assist with this. Take the time to also connect with your body by giving thanks for the support that it has given you. Offer thanks for each body part and how it has supported you. As an example below is one sample of what I do.

  • I put my hands in Anjali mudra (prayer position) and place my thumbs against my third eye. I then say, thank you for giving me sight beyond sight. Allowing me to see past what my eyes cannot perceive. Allowing me to be expansive. Allowing me to connect with aspects of my higher self.

Listen to your heart, speak from that space, and the words will naturally come. Most importantly enjoy yourself.

May we care for ourselves in the way that we’ve always yearned to be cared for by others. So shall it be!

Love & Light

Leave a Reply

