Lessons Learned On The Road To Self Love

 

I would love to tell you that I loved the absolute hell out of myself, but that wouldn’t be completely true. Now, don’t get me wrong I do and did love myself however, I am learning the difference in the depths of that love. Delving deeper into my love for myself has been an amazing journey. I have met some beautiful souls and released some bonds that needed to be set free. Along the way though, there have been some standout lessons that I would like to share. Below are what I feel to be the more valuable lessons of my journey thus far.

You Can Be Unhappy and Still Love Yourself Your satisfaction with situations and even yourself does not denote the amount of self love that you possess. Life always has a way of reminding us that things change and quite rapidly in some cases. In the end, there will always be things that we can improve upon. The key is to still love who, what, and where we are as we work on changing the conditions that do not make us happy or satisfied. You truly can love everything about yourself and your life without liking everything about yourself and your life. Compassion toward yourself is one the many sincere forms of self love that I think we all need.

Deeper Love Takes Time We all want to feel love as deeply as humanly possible. You know, that love that speaks to the very core or essence of your being. This is the love that I had to develop with myself and it only came from spending time alone with myself. My times of solitude were full of a variety of self care methods. I have found that my most profound moments of gaining an understanding came within the silence of four walls. It is important to make space for yourself, your thoughts, and spiritual work on a regular basis. Thich Nhat Hanh eloquently stated ” The most precious gift you can give to the one you love is your true presence.” I find that we are incapable of giving to others what we cannot give to ourselves. Being fully committed to being fully present to and for yourself fosters deeper levels of love within yourself. Once you have expanded the length, width, and depth of your own self love then, it can be offered to others. The practices that have helped me in this area are

  • Meditation
  • Crystal Meditation
  • Conscious Breathing Exercises
  • Sacred Full Body Blessings
  • Yoga
  • Designated Private Time In Silence
  • Sacred Movement Exercises (Dance to Tribal or High Vibratory Music)

I always find that it’s good to play with a variety of exercises and see how you feel after you have performed them. Feel free to even make things up as you go along. This is the space that you can explore yourself and your creativity to produce the conditions that can raise your vibratory frequency, provide greater insight, and deepen connections to yourself.

Connectedness To Your Sexuality Is Vital Sexuality tends to be one of the most unattended aspects of our divine feminine. This can happen for a plethora of reasons that would be entirely to long to list. What is important however, is that we utilize methods that would enable us to reconnect to this sacred and beautiful aspect of ourselves. Connection to your sexuality fosters deeper connections to your creativity and long term thought processes. Even though I have always been comfortable and connected as a sexual being, my journey led me to embrace the following activities which enabled me to foster a deeper connection to my own sexuality.

  • Yoga (Clothed and Nude)
  • Nude Dancing (Video taped or in the mirror)
  • Yoni Eggs
  • Yoni Massage
  • Womb Meditations and Affirmations
  • Sacred Touch Exploration
  • Meditative Masterbation
  • Increased Water Intake
  • Began Regular Probiotic Regimen
  • Vegan Diet (I’ve been Vegan for over 5 yrs and Gluten Free for 1.5 yrs)

The depth and increased vibratory frequency that I have attained from my practice has been awe-inspiring! Loving yourself has to be done with consideration for your whole being. My practice has made space for deeper sexual connections with a partner because I am able to give my entire being to the experience. My ability to communicate sexually increased as well enhancing the sexual experience as a whole. As I continue to relearn myself and my body, I have the pleasure of reintroducing myself to my partner and they’ve had the pleasure of a renewed experience. Rumi says “Your deepest presence is in every small contracting and expanding, the two as beautifully balanced and coordinated as birds’ wings.” When you dedicate yourself to delving inward throughout the depths of your being, you will expand both inwardly and outwardly. Taking care of yourselves mentally, physically, emotionally, spiritually, and sexually without excuses or apologies has to be a priority. Once this happens, you will never be able to go back to being who you were previously. Change that happens existentially and not merely logically is what gives you your roots.

2 thoughts on “Lessons Learned On The Road To Self Love

Leave a Reply

